Great Fortune

Great Fortune

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent's riveting story are four remarkable individuals: tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough's The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow's Titan, and Robert Caro's The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.


Author
Publisher Penguin
Release Date
ISBN 1101666900
Pages 560 pages
Rating 4/5 (06 users)

More Books:

Great Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 560
Authors: Daniel Okrent
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-11-30 - Publisher: Penguin

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art,
Super Great Fortune Teller
Language: en
Pages: 402
Authors: Gu FanYuanYing
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-29 - Publisher: Funstory

A little Taoist was forced to leave Taoist Temple. Fortunately, he found a cheat book and went into the city to start his own spiritual journey. At first,he got
How to Achieve Good Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Murdo Donaldson MacLeod
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-24 - Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

Is good fortune just a matter of luck? Or being born under the right star? In this compelling book, Murdo MacLeod shows how you can load the dice in your own fa
Good Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Michele Knight
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Andrews McMeel Pub

Psychic astrologer Michele Knight takes a new look at the fascinating and enduring subject of astrology, telling readers how they can discover more about how th
The Complete Concordance to Shakspeare
Language: en
Pages: 860
Authors: Mary Cowden Clarke
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1845 - Publisher:

A Book of Quotations
Language: en
Pages: 896
Authors: W. Gurney Benham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-06 - Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

Reprint of the original, first published in 1914.
Great Work of Time
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: John Crowley
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-31 - Publisher: Hachette UK

His name is Caspar Last, and this is the unique chronicle of the vacation he took from the twentieth century. It begins - or does it? - when Caspar, a genius, p
History of the Great American Fortunes
Language: en
Pages: 327
Authors: Gustavus Myers
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-07 - Publisher: Jovian Press

Originally published in 1910, a primary source for the business and development of American power in the nineteenth century. Originally published in 1910, a pri
Good Fortune's Curse
Language: en
Pages: 252
Authors: Sam Cromartie
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-28 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Dr. Bill Stuart has spent his life trying to find a cure for the aging process. In his seventh decade, he develops a drug that reverses aging in rats but gives
Auspicious Good Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 246
Authors: Sumangal Morhall
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-04-16 - Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

Has your life ever flashed before you? Sumangali Morhall chased everything Western society taught her to pursue: material wealth, academic success, and even the