Great Fortune

Great Fortune

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent's riveting story are four remarkable individuals: tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough's The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow's Titan, and Robert Caro's The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.


Author
Publisher Penguin
Release Date
ISBN 1101666900
Pages 560 pages
Rating 4/5 (06 users)

More Books:

Great Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 560
Authors: Daniel Okrent
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-11-30 - Publisher: Penguin

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art,
Super Great Fortune Teller
Language: en
Pages: 402
Authors: Gu FanYuanYing
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-29 - Publisher: Funstory

A little Taoist was forced to leave Taoist Temple. Fortunately, he found a cheat book and went into the city to start his own spiritual journey. At first,he got
Good Fortune's Curse
Language: en
Pages: 252
Authors: Sam Cromartie
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-28 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Dr. Bill Stuart has spent his life trying to find a cure for the aging process. In his seventh decade, he develops a drug that reverses aging in rats but gives
Good Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 216
Authors: Michele Knight
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Andrews McMeel Pub

Psychic astrologer Michele Knight takes a new look at the fascinating and enduring subject of astrology, telling readers how they can discover more about how th
The Greatest Sci-Fi Books of All Time
Language: en
Pages: 10715
Authors: Jules Verne
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-11-13 - Publisher: DigiCat

DigiCat presents to you this unique Sci-Fi collection with carefully picked out stories from out of space, thrilling intergalactic adventures, dystopian novels
A Book of Quotations
Language: en
Pages: 898
Authors: W. Gurney Benham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-06 - Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

Reprint of the original, first published in 1914.
The Complete Concordance to Shakspeare
Language: en
Pages: 878
Authors: Mary Cowden- Clarke
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1845 - Publisher:

Necklace of Good Fortune
Language: en
Pages: 98
Authors: Ṅag-dbaṅ-phun-tshogs (Dge-bśes Lam-rim)
Categories: Karma
Type: BOOK - Published: 1982 - Publisher:

This wonderful text by Geshe Lam Rim propounds the Buddhist theory of Karma and past and future lives, presented in a lucid and concise manner. This spiritual a
Containing the English before the Dutch
Language: en
Pages: 948
Authors: John Holtrop
Categories: Dutch language
Type: BOOK - Published: 1789 - Publisher:

Good Fortune Sweet Journeys
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: Frank Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-04-10 - Publisher: iUniverse

All should know that "good fortune, sweet journeys" is a long-standing Irish farewell of hope for the traveler. As Michael Forester's journey transects the deca